The judges behind the Barclaycard Mercury Prize released today their shortlist for the Album of the Year award, which is given out to “celebrate and promote the best of UK music.”

Although the list contains some names which are unlikely to be seen on music t-shirts, such as jazz pianist Gwilym Simcock, other artists listed, such as Elbow, PJ Harvey and Adele, are highly popular and regulars on the festival set.

The shortlist, which compilers said “recognises artistic achievement across a range of genres,” is as follows:

Metronomy, ‘The English Riviera
Adele, ‘21
Everything Everything, ‘Man Alive
Ghostpoet, ‘Peanut Butter Blues & Melancholy Jam
Anna Calvi, ‘Anna Calvi
Tinie Tempah, ‘Disc-Overy
Elbow, ‘Build a Rocket Boys!
Gwilym Simcock, ‘Good Days at Schloss Elmau
James Blake, ‘James Blake
PJ Harvey, ‘Let England Shake
Katy B, ‘On a Mission
King Creosote & Jon Hopkins, ‘Diamond Mine

Commenting on the list, judges’ chairman Simon Frith said: “Much of the music here evokes a sense of place and time, providing a wonderful snapshot of Britain’s varied musical life.”

Tagged with:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Looking for something?

Use the form below to search the site:

Still not finding what you're looking for? Drop a comment on a post or contact us so we can take care of it!

Visit our friends!

A few highly recommended friends...